• Archives

  • 2010 Calendar

    September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Anorexia/Bulimia

This is a very prevalent problem into today’s world.  All over, especially in America/Western Society, girls are trying to measure up to unrealistic and even (dare I say) ugly standards imposed by supermodels imposed on a magazine front.  They are thin. ” They are pretty. ” Every girl wants to be thin and pretty.  In fact pretty = thin for most of today’s society.

These girls are insecure.  They have not found security, ultimate security, in the love of God, our Heavenly Father.   Girls naturally crave affection and love, and therefore think that the outward appearance will garner that love.  The outward appearance is what matters most to them.  In reality, it’s not.  It doesn’t matter whether _____ wears makeup or doesn’t wear make up, wears earings or not, is thin or average, a big eater or a little eater.  God does not judge by the outward appearance, but the state of the heart.    He does not love us because of anything in us, but because He loves us with the unconditional love of a father.

It destroys so many girl’s lives, and what seems to be the answer to the eating disorders?  Oh.  “Send her to a counselor. Let her pour out her woes, and see if that helps her.”  It’s not that counselors are bad, but if there isn’t a digging deep to the core of the problem, it all seems to continually snowball.  The girls go to a counselor and come home to the same insecurity that they are trying to leave behind, trying to resolve.

The problem of anorexia continues to haunt many girls for years afterwards.  It comes up again and again, and it’s a constant battle for them.  They are destroying themselves and the bodies they have been given, and it’s utterly sad to watch.

What is the answer to this wide spread problem?  Is it external bandaids?  Is it giving 5 quick and easy steps as a sure fire way for recovery?  No, the problem goes far deeper.  It roots deeply in the fact that as human beings, we are created in the image of God, but we are ignoring that and attempting to be our own gods.  From the very beginning, God made and designed man and woman in His image.  They are precious to Him, and because we are created in His image, we are not to destroy the functional amazing bodies He has given to everyone.

What if you believed in evolution?  What if you believed in random chance or the fact that we are just little dust molecules bumping up against one another?  Would it matter that much if someone was in perpetual starvation mode, literally killing themselves?  Well, no, it wouldn’t, because that person is just a piece of dust, floating around with no aim or ultimate purpose.  What does it matter if they live or die?

What if someone told you that you were created by an Almighty God, Lord of Heaven and Earth and that He created you with a divine purpose?  As a Christian, I take comfort in the fact that I know and rest in my Heavenly Father’s love and His purpose and direction for my life.  I know that I am here for a purpose.  I know that He has given me a body to do His work.  I know He has given me the abilities I have, and if I attempted to, in the interest of incuring the praises of men, starve that body, I would be destroying the very gift He gave me here on this earth.  Proverbs 31 I can’t think of myself or be self-absorbed in my own appearance.  Of course, I want to glorify God with a tidy, neat appearance, but I don’t want to desire for what the world calls pretty or beautiful. 1 Peter 3:3-5  3Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; 4But let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.  I want to be beautiful and sanctified in God’s eyes, by His Holy Spirit.  Genesis 1:27-31  27So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them. 28And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth. 29And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat. 30And to every beast of the earth, and to every fowl of the air, and to every thing that creepeth upon the earth, wherein there is life, I have given every green herb for meat: and it was so. 31And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good. And the evening and the morning were the sixth day.

I pray more and more girls would see that they are made in God’s image, with love and care, and turn to Him for ultimate satisfaction! Our hope can only be found in Him! Psalm 42:11 11Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

 

 

Leave a Reply

